1

2

3

4 5

6

7 8

9 10

11

12 13

14

15 16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24 25

26

27

BEFORE THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS

COUNTY OF FRESNO STATE OF CALIFORNIA

IN THE MATTER OF RECOGNIZING AND CONGRATULATING DAVID CARR, MELVIN ELY, ROGER GEORGE, JOHN HARRIS, TERI MCKEEVER AND THE 1977-1980 SAN JOAQUIN MEMORIAL) **GIRLS BASKETBALL TEAMS** 

WHEREAS, The Fresno Athletic Hall of Fame was founded in 1958 by Fresno Bee Sports editor Ed Orman and John Voenes, Chairman of the Fresno Athletic Hall of Fame Committee with help from others closely affiliated with the local world of sports; and

WHEREAS, The Fresno Athletic Hall of fame has celebrated the extraordinary athletic accomplishments of individual athletes and teams since its inception and continues this tradition of excellence today; and

WHEREAS, The nationally recognized Fresno Athletic Hall of Fame reaffirms its mission to Honor the Past, Celebrate the Present and Inspire the Future for the past 58 years and proudly stands in the top 2% among the nation's premier Hall of Fames; and

WHEREAS, The Fresno Athletic Hall of Fame has historically inducted over 300 outstanding individual athletes across 40 sports and multiple teams for their athletic excellence and in the year 2017, the Fresno Athletic Hall of Fame honors the following inductees: David Carr, Melvin Ely, Roger George, John Harris, Teri Mckeever, and the 1977-1980 San Joaquin Memorial Girls Basketball Teams; and

WHEREAS, The success of these athletes will be celebrated on November 2, 2017 at the 59th annual Enshrinement Awards Dinner and Fundraiser, an event from which the proceeds will benefit local student athletes in our community as they strive to reach their dreams of pursuing athletics and academics at the next level.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Fresno County Board of Supervisors hereby recognizes and congratulates David Carr, Melvin Ely, Roger George, John Harris, Teri McKeever and the 1977-1980 San Joaquin Memorial Girls Basketball Teams as the 2017 inductees into the Fresno Athletic Hall of Fame.

THE FOREGOING, was passed and adopted by the following vote of the Board of Supervisors of the County of Fresno this 31ST day of October, 2017, to-wit:

AYES:

Supervisors, Borgeas, Magsig, Mendes, Pacheco, Quintero

NOES:

None

ABSENT:

None ABSTAINED: None

> Brian Pacheco, Chairman of the Board of Supervisors of the County of Fresno

ATTEST:

BERNICE E. SEIDEL

Clerk to the Board of Supervisors County of Fresno, State of California